Failure… is it really that bad?

“O, happy the soul that saw its own faults.” (Rumi)

 Sunflower with a Bee Lately, I have been thinking about the concept of  failure, it has been the question of the week for my yoga classes. At first, the word just brings negative connotations and feelings – but that really doesn’t have to be the case. 

During pregnancy there have been a few, okay maybe more than a few, times that I felt like I was failing at multiple things such as;  keeping up with house hold duties, garden work, exercise routine, super healthy diet and many more.  What helped me get through this emotionally and probably hormonal dance was reforming the way I viewed failure. 

Failure is an opportunity.  At first it might not seem that way, but once you step back and take a look, we find that we have learned valuable lessons, gained experience and grow. 

Failure is opportunity.   A chance to practice surrendering to an outcome that you obviously did not want to happen.

Failure is an opportunity.  A new way to look at yourself, another person, maybe a whole idea in a new light. 

Failure can actually mean succeeding. 

I know this could be difficult to comprehend.  You just have to surrender. Surrendering is a constant theme in yoga.  We can do it with our mind, body and actions.  When I failed to do the dishes (again) and napped instead, I surrendered to the needs of my body and growing baby. 

I understand that the concept of failure can be towards larger, maybe more life changing situations, but that still leaves the same emotion, the feeling of failing.   The level of the situation just makes the level of surrendering or opportunity even bigger.  I used to own a retail business and when I had to decide to close the doors I was devastated.  After the first run through emotions, I realized the opportunities, joys and experience that I had were worth it.  I might have failed in keeping the doors open, but I succeeded in sharing my passion and knowledge with rocks to many amazing people, I have hands on experience owning and operating a business, I met my husband, I was able to bring my dog to work every day and so on and so on.  It’s hard to look at the experience as a failure anymore when I start shedding new light on the situation and see the positivity in it all.

 

Yoga Theme and Questions to ask your Students

Rumi Quote. “Oh happy the soul who saw its own faults. “

Ralph Waldo Emerson.  “Men succeed when they realize that their failures are the preparation for their victories.” 

Find a comfortable position to begin class and focus on your breath and to set the theme.    

Intention can be to surrender to your fears of failing and gain the strength to view the past failures as opportunities and strengths.

Poses – Eagle, Dancers, Warrior 3

 

What are some poses you would add to the class?

 

Leave a comment