Does it Really Happen in 3’s? Tips to deal with stress.

I am not sure if you ever heard the saying that bad things usually happen in three’s, but this week I sure feel like there might be some truth to that.  In the past 7 days we have had our new dishwasher, new refrigerator and garage door all break. The dishwasher and garage door was fixable but the refrigerator is a goner.   Less than two years old and the Frigidaire start button just burned up – leaving us grateful that the house didn’t burn down and a valuable lesson – You need to always find the positive in every situation.

What are some things you do to help cope with a stressful week?  Here are my top 10.Even princesses have bad days

Here is my list of attitude pick me uppers. 🙂

1. Go take a Yoga Class. Meditate and breathe.

2. Go out in nature.

3. Turn off the news/ radio / social media.

4. Play with the kids or let yourself act like a kid. PLAY!

5. Treat yourself.  If you have extra cash go get a massage, mani/ pedi or facial.  If extra cash is not an option ( I feel ya!) a DIY facial is fabulous or paint your nails a fun new color.

6. Change your attitude to Gratitude.  Start that list of things you are grateful for.  Every time I have to do the dishes and I just don’t feel like it, I remember how lucky we are to have had food to eat and water to clean.

7.  Go through your closet. I know, this one is a little … different. Sometimes thinking about cleaning your closet can be such a drag, but when you think of it as a shopping trip or a chance to create new outfits it can be fun.  For some reason I gain so much joy in finding old or rarely worn articles of clothes and re-imagining new outfits.

8. Move your body.  Sometimes, all you have to do is dance.

9.  Be creative.  Bake, color, craft even organizing requires creativity.

10. Laugh.  Put on a funny movie, read a funny book, hang out with people who make you laugh.

Leave a comment